Frédéric Chiasson

composer

New website under construction

This website is not updated because a new website is under construction. Actually, I still compose and arrange a lot! For the last news, please check my Facebook page.

Scènes

for alto saxophone and tape

Duration: 5 minutes

Share

Buy the score here

Video

The Globe and Sh*t, joué par Louis-Philippe Bonin.

Voices recording (without saxophone part)

The Globe and Sh*t – bande (The Globe and Sh*t – tape)

Jeffrey Stonehouse, Cynthia Lewis and Hugo Cassivi

Notes

After reading hateful and highly racist comments against Quebeckers in the Globe and Mail on the student strike, I decided that my new saxophone piece for Louis-Philippe Bonin and the 2012 World Saxophone Congress in St. Andrews would be on these comments. It has become my first piece of what we call musique mixte, which means a music mixing instruments and electroacoustics (the recorded voices).

Having a peaceful life, the saxophone gets caught by a a wave of anglophone hideous comments. Surprised, the saxophone seeks to start the conversation, but the comptentuous commentators ignore him. The saxophone gets nervous and withdraws, but the commentators come back to haunt him, going on with their most hurtful comments. This time, the saxophone does not look to be pleasant nor open anymore. Rage rises. The saxophone does not hesitate to respond to attacks and show their own violence. He does not have the choice: only his imperious anger shuts them up once and for all.

The piece is dedicated to Louis-Philippe Bonin, who premiered it at the World Saxophone Congress at St. Andrews, on July 14th, 2012. The premiere has been supported by the Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec (LOJIQ) and the Centre for Interdisciplinary Research for Music, Media and Technology (CIRMMT). Note that the CIRMMT, a McGill based laboratory, has been more open to cultural differences than many Anglo-Canadian newspapers!.

Articles about The Globe and Sh*t

2012-09-16 An analysis of source of comments from Globe and Sh*t
2012-08-30 Video – to what extend an opera staging can go...
2012-08-14 AdolpheSax.com videos of our concert in Scotland have arrived.
2012-08-08 Lecture-concert on my saxophone works on August 10th
2012-07-31 Video of premiere of Globe and Sh*t
2012-07-14 La Lame de l'horizon and The Globe and Sh*t just have been played in Scotland
2012-07-13 The Globe and Sh*t in Scotland
2012-07-07 Composing The Globe and Sh*t – 3. The tape
2012-06-18 Composing The Globe and Sh*t – 2. Recording comments
2012-06-11 Composing The Globe and Sh*t – 1. The Idea
2012-06-08 New portfolio photos

Comments

comments powered by Disqus

Frédéric Chiasson

compositeur

Nouveau site en construction

Ce site n'est pas à jour parce qu'un nouveau site est en construction. En fait, je continue à composer et arranger beaucoup ! D'ici là, pour les dernières actualités, suivez ma page Facebook.

The Globe and Sh*t

pour saxophone alto et bande

Durée : 5 minutes

Share

Achetez la partition ici

Vidéo

The Globe and Sh*t, joué par Louis-Philippe Bonin.

Bande des voix (sans la partie de saxophone)

The Globe and Sh*t – bande

Jeffrey Stonehouse, Cynthia Lewis et Hugo Cassivi

Notes

Suite à la lecture des commentaires haineux et foncièrement racistes envers les Québécois dans les articles du Globe and Mail sur la grève étudiante, j’ai décidé que la nouvelle pièce de saxophone pour Louis-Philippe Bonin et le Congrès mondial de saxophone 2012 de Saint-Andrews serait sur ces commentaires. C’est devenu ma première pièce dite de musique mixte, c’est-à-dire une musique mélangeant instruments et électroacoustique (les voix enregistrées).

Menant une vie paisible, le saxophone se fait surprendre par une marée de commentaires anglophones scabreux. Surpris, le saxophone cherche à ouvrir la conversation, sans que les commentateurs méprisants s’en occupent. Le saxophone s’énerve et se retire, mais les commentateurs reviennent le hanter, allant de leurs propos les plus blessants. Cette fois, le saxophone ne cherche plus à se montrer aimable ou ouvert. La rage monte. Le saxophone n’hésite plus à répondre aux attaques et à montrer leur propre violence. Il n’a pas le choix : seule son impérieuse colère les tait une fois pour toutes.

La pièce est dédiée à Louis-Philippe Bonin, qui l'a créée au Congrès mondial de saxophone de Saint-Andrews, le 14 juillet 2012. La création a été rendue possible grâce au soutien des Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec (LOJIQ) et du Centre for Interdisciplinary Research for Music, Media and Technology (CIRMMT). Notons que le CIRMMT, laboratoire situé à l'Université McGill, s'est montré plus ouvert aux différences culturelles que bien des journaux anglo-canadiens !

Articles à propos de The Globe and Sh*t

2012-09-16 Une analyse de la source des commentaires du Globe and Sh*t
2012-08-30 Vidéo – jusqu'où la mise en scène d'opéra peut aller...
2012-08-14 Les vidéos d'AdolpheSax.com de notre concert en Écosse sont arrivés.
2012-08-08 Conférence-concert sur mes œuvres de saxophone le 10 août
2012-07-31 Vidéo de la création de The Globe and Sh*t
2012-07-14 La Lame de l'horizon et The Globe and Sh*t viennent d'être joués en Écosse
2012-07-13 The Globe and Sh*t en Écosse
2012-07-07 Composer The Globe and Sh*t – 3. La bande
2012-06-18 Composer The Globe and Sh*t – 2. Enregistrer les commentaires
2012-06-11 Composer The Globe and Sh*t – 1. L'idée
2012-06-08 Nouvelles photos d'artistes

Commentaires

comments powered by Disqus