Frédéric Chiasson


New website under construction

This website is not updated because a new website is under construction. Actually, I still compose and arrange a lot! For the last news, please check my Facebook page.


for soloist ensemble

(1111/1 sax (alto/tenor)/1110/1 perc./string quintet)

Duration : 16:47





The core idea for Cristal is the image of a cristal, turning around, displaying beams of light and colors. Then inside it, we see visions : visions of war and peace, ascend and downfall, joy, anguish, rage and fear. All produced by the same single cristal.

The composition is based on an isorythmic pattern. Initiated by high percussions and piano, the turning rhythms and chords are gradually enriched by each instrument. At its climax, the saturation of colors gives birth to the visions, pictures that break the initial calmness and bliss.


  • Flute (changing for Piccolo)
  • Oboe (changing for English Horn)
  • Clarinet in Bb (changing for Clarinet in Eb)
  • Alto Saxophone (changing for Tenor Saxophone)
  • Bassoon
  • Horn in F
  • Trumpet in C
  • Trombone
  • Percussion
    • - Triangle
    • - Cymbal
    • - Great gong
    • - 4 Rototoms (tuned in E-A-D-G)
    • - 4 Timbales (tuned in F#-B-E-A)
    • - Crotales (1 octave from C to C)
    • - Glockenspiel
  • Piano
  • String quintet (2 violins, 1 viola, 1 cello, 1 double bass)


comments powered by Disqus